Newbie Builds A Pond

Reaction score
Hi All,
I have been brave and built myself a pond. I will be honest and tell you I have no experience with ponds so started small and easy or so I thought...

After reading pages and pages on advise I went with a small 150 litre (Lotus "Perch") preformed pond. Spent the weekend digging the hole following the instructions etc adding the water etc... after alot of blood sweat and tears finished late Sunday night.......
First thing this morning I went to check on my labour only to find the edges of my pond are curling a bit???? Looking at it, if I placed large rocks (which I planned to do later on to finish to look) around the edges this would hold them down but I am unsure if this is ok to do??

Can anyone advise....this would be greatly received?

Many thanks
Sam

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Is it plastic, and thin, in the full sun? That might have caused it to curl, or the water weight pulling on the edges.

Can you post a picture that would help. Rocks on the edges will be fine.

Reaction score
Wow thanks for the super fast reply.

It is quite thin and made of plastic (HDPE) its not in the direct sun light there is some shade.

Do you think its a big problem? I wasnt sure whether to dig it up and re-do it?

I have attempted to post a pic......

Many thanks again

Attachments

• 16.04.11 066.jpg
    16.04.11 066.jpg
    154.3 KB · Views: 343

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
It looks as though the hole is deeper than the pond and so the water weight is pulling it down. I am thinking that you will have to drain it and pull it out and add more dirt. Not what you wanted to hear I know but I don't see any other way around the problem. Maybe somebody else has a different idea and can help you on how to get it right the 2nd time :(

addy1

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b