newbie here to ponds do u

Blackdog128

blackdog128
Reaction score
change the pond water in the winter time or just let it stay in there all winter what do u do during the winter on a pond ?

Blackdog128

blackdog128
Reaction score
so far this month the weather has been in 50's -upper 60s all month long my friend is doing nothing with well now my koi fish not feeding it or anything with it :(

Blackdog128

blackdog128
Reaction score
but at night its been freezing so will it be ok for now i have just the one koi fish i am going to be getting in a few months time

Blackdog128

blackdog128
Reaction score
iam not sure how deep the pond is right now my friend is not caring for the pond right she never does anything in the winter time for it

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
sometimes amazes me how hardy fish can be .I emptied a pond for a realtor as the house had been up for sale for years and she thought nothing was in it and low and behold in all that muck and stink there were lots of fish .A preformed pond too .I gave the fish a new home in a pond people were building as they had no fish yet and were happy to receive free fish .I have taken out 3 ponds like it since and one was 5 years old and nothing running it it for all that time but the fish managed to survive .Some where koi also and way over crowded .BELIEVE ME THESE FISH WERE LUCKY

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States