Newbie here - Want to build duck pond for two ducks

Reaction score
Country
United States
hi all - I have two female ducks who live and our chicken coop and run with our chickens. We have been using a kiddie pool set up to take them out every day to swim and it isn't a sustainable option. I want to build a more permanent pond using a performed liner in ground with a drain. I have NO IDEA how to start and have been researching for a while. We live in N. CA, so cold isn't an issue. My goal is this:

1) Put small swimming pond in large chicken run so it is safe from predators
2) Have a drain for easy cleaning that can drain to vegetation (french drain)/
3) Install some kind of filter and pump system to keep water moving. Our kiddie pool is basically standing water and we get gross bugs we would like to avoid.

So, wise ones - what products do you recommend? Can I use a preformed liner in a not so big space?

Best,
Sharon

Jhn

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
B…O…Double G…er spells bog or something like that…. pond with an upflow bog and let the plants do the filtering. It will keep the pond cleaner than any box filter will. Do a search on here for bog builds most on here use them as there only filter on there ponds myself included.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
The pond part is easy.... the drain part will be the challenge. I wonder if investing in a good solids handling pump might be a better idea. With the amount of waste ducks add to a pond, you'll probably be cleaning it out on a regular basis. Unless - does it have to be in ground? What about a stock tank? Would the ducks use an above ground swimming hole? Those come with a built in drain and that would be easy peasy.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1625761050396.gif
@sleslie13

Reaction score
Country
United States