Newbie Needs Advice


Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
7,127
Reaction score
8,009
Location
Northern IL
200 gallons really worries me - that's just not a lot of water. And 18" isn't deep enough, either. 2 feet is the minimum recommendation in our zone 5B. I would plan to bring those fish inside to be on the safe side. I mean, if we have a mild winter they might be fine - but by the time you realize it's NOT it'll be too late.

Our temp went to a low 46 degrees last night, but it's a beautiful 72 degrees now!
It's the WATER temperature you're concerned with - not the air temperature. Your pond will cool slowly - water doesn't have dramatic drops and rises in temperature like the air does.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
Annville, PA
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
If you are gonna bring them in, get a 29 gallon tank... put them in the garage where the temperature will drop down but they won't freeze up...get a thermometer... the water temperature is what matters not the air. I would place a filter in the tank even though the fish are not eating when the water goes below 50.
I don't have a garage but I have a basement that wouldn't get any colder than 60-65 degrees. However, that means I would have to continue feeding them twice a day, right? And, they wouldn't get the sunlight that they are used to. Does that matter? I'm concerned about taking them out of their habitat into a different habitat, and then back into their pond six months later. Is that too much transition for these fish?
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
Annville, PA
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
Sorry i didn't notice the post before... I live in Hershey near by.

A 200 gallon preformed above ground is likely to cause a fish kill. If you have it buried 100% then the fish may survive... it will happen on those days the air temperature hits the 20s or 10s. Last winter was weak and we didn't hit those much.

Your best bet is to get a trough heater... the pond is also small enough for you to cover it with a big tent and that will do the trick. The wind is the biggest reason these ponds freeze up.
The bottom half of the pond is in ground and then we built up around the top half. Still think it can freeze solid? Even if I run the pump?
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2015
Messages
1,174
Reaction score
649
Location
Hershey, PA
Hardiness Zone
6A
Country
I don't have a garage but I have a basement that wouldn't get any colder than 60-65 degrees. However, that means I would have to continue feeding them twice a day, right? And, they wouldn't get the sunlight that they are used to. Does that matter? I'm concerned about taking them out of their habitat into a different habitat, and then back into their pond six months later. Is that too much transition for these fish?
At 60-65F you just feed them once a day... light doesn't matter. I'm not sure if fish make vitamin D from the sun but in the winter they don't get much of it anyway... you'll need a filter and need to change 90% of the water once every 3 days first 2 weeks then 90% once week after..
 

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
25,213
Reaction score
15,088
Location
Arlington, Washington
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
upload_2017-9-18_9-25-18.gif
@Angela Marie I feed my goldfish once a day till our temps get down in the mid 50's consistently. I start feeding again in Spring when temps are consistently above the mid 50's.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2015
Messages
1,174
Reaction score
649
Location
Hershey, PA
Hardiness Zone
6A
Country
The bottom half of the pond is in ground and then we built up around the top half. Still think it can freeze solid? Even if I run the pump?
Honestly... yes without a trough heater. Two years ago my 300 gallon pond (all buried) didn't freeze solid but the entire surface froze when we had several days of 0s except for the area around the waterfall. My co-worker who had an above ground 200 gallons had most of her pond frozen and none of her fish survived.... So you risk some fish dying if you will go without one and are above ground.


Again they aren't hard to have. They didn't spike my bill either. IMO it's cheaper to get one and run it than to get an aquarium, a filter, an aerator for indoors and do the water changes.

Here is the one I use.
 
Last edited:

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top