Newbie Ponder

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hi There, Newbie here in Portland OR.
Any comments would be welcomed. So...
I thought it would be easy to build a pond and give a few goldfish a happy life!

I basically extended my block wall retaining wall to create a 4ft by 5 ft, with a 2 ft depth = apprx 300 gals. rectangle that I put a liner into and filled up with the hose.

It is really pretty cool. BUT, I realize that my surface area is only 20 sq ft and my depth is 2 feet. I have just read that it should only be 1 foot deep. So I might have an anaerobic water situation at the bottom?!

I have a 680 gpm underwater pump which sits on a brick at the bottom and has a nice bell fountain, which I thought would take care of oxygenation needs. I have 7 3-5" goldfish and a floating plant. I thought this was a super great set up. It's been together for about a month.

Sadly, I lost two fish yesterday. :(
pond.jpg

The pond started to get really green and it was difficult to see the bottom. I dosed with "Pondsafe" algecide that stated it is safe for fish. I dosed for 200 gals, (to be safe). The temperature went up to 90 yesterday. The fish stayed in the "fish tower" (upside down 12" diameter jar placed just under surface) all day. I thought it was fun to see them, and they did not look distressed at all. But the behavior was weird.

By morning the two smallish ones were death swimming and the other larger ones are pretty listless and hanging at the bottom. AGH

So after reading all this, I have 3 questions:
1. Do you think it was an oxygen deficit that hurt my fish?
2. Is the pond too deep for the surface?
3. Do you think I can ad a air pump stone to add oxygen at the bottom to overcome the depth problem?.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Welcome @liznpdx ! I'm sorry to hear about your fish - that's always a sad situation.

I don't think you have to be concerned about the depth of your pond. Aeration however is always a good idea.