Newbie to Koi Pond ... question about shubunkin vs koi

Reaction score
Hi all! I am new to the Koi world and very excited. I have a koi pond I built last year and never put any fish in (did put some plants in). I believe there may have been some eggs on the plants and low and behold I found a couple baby shubunkin or koi? i know for certain there is a mix of both because I saw a larger koi. but so confused about the shubunkin and have tried figuring it out.

so I went and got some more Koi to get the pond active! I am quarantining them now and know for sure they are koi as they are larger.
I want to remove the shubunkin and rehome them to my nextdoor neighbor who loves them. I love all fish but really don't want to have the shubunkin breed and have a million babies everywhere !

I can't find any anatomy pics online and am trying to figure it out by the fins, mouth shape and whiskers (or if anyone else has some seriously accurate way of distinguishing between the two when they are babies please help!). They just look so similar to me especially when they are this small (about 1-2 inches).

***** I read something about koi having 2 anal fins and shubunkin having 1 or is it vise versa?

****** Also the whiskers / barbels I know Koi have. But the thing is these fish are babies so I really can not tell if its a koi or shubunkin.
My questions are also
- Do baby SHUBUNKIN have tiny whiskers on top?
- Do Baby Koi have whiskers on top AND barbels on bottom?

If anyone can help I am greatly appreciative! Thank you so much!!

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Gold fish keep there fin on there backs up far more then do koi. Koi also have three fins on there underside.on each side. Koi can also be longer then goldfish for the same size yes the wiskers and the cent glands under the eyes.

Reaction score