newbie to ponds

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi I'm new to ponds. So I am looking for some experienced guidance.
I picked up a small pond liner. I think its almost 300 gallon, assuming I calculated it correctly.
I have no idea were to start from here. I got it in the ground, but I'm trying to make sure I get all I need to get started.
First question is, will I be able to keep fish in this small pond? I know size is a problem.
Second how do I know what size filters or pumps to get for it?

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome and preforms I would get fat fantails ,they don't breed much and don't get big .Not sure where you live but winter is always a factor in ponding and so is heat .In my small preformed I had I had a 450 gph pump and an aerator If you don't mind cleaning a foam pad you can just use the filter foam that comes in the pump you can get something like this at lowes .Will take up room in the pond
100_7015.JPG
100_7016.JPG
100_7018.JPG
100_7019.JPG

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Where to do you live? That makes a difference in how well the fish will do in a small pond.

Welcome to our group!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
Welcome toforum .what is the length width of the liner ? u can have pair of fish (comet goldfish) if no extreme cold , have pump of same volume per hour ur pond has . like 200 g/h wud b fine for 2 small fishes and any small filter

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b