Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States
Good morning everyone! I'm new to the forum because I'm new to the pond hobby. I have just started my first pond details below with a few pictures. I'm not done yet, so it's a work in progress...I have a feeling it's always going to be a work in progress :)
JtKMV2
rcEUkf
7djKq-

Menards pre-formed 275 gallon About 6' X 8' X 18" deep :( (Wish it was deeper) but it's my first so can always grow!
4000 liter biological pressure filter with UV light on timer 2 hours in morning and 2 hours in evening
Tetra pre-filter to 600GPH pump to Tetra fountain
Tetra in-pond skimmer to 1,900GPH pump to LED waterfall

I had some really clear water and for the first week and then added some Pondworx Pond Bacteria and the next day seemed a brown tint kind of dirty. I also added 3 gold fish my Dad gave me out of his 8 year old pond. They're doing good it seems, swimming around checking things out and seem to love where the waterfall dumps into the pond. They haven't been eating much though? I also added a placostmus (not sure I'm spelling that right) We named him shadow because he seems to hide in the shadows and not do much.

Anyway not sure what I did that could of caused the abrupted change in water condition so I'm sure some "veteran" pond lovers could help me.

I love this new hobby and learning all about it!

Attachments

• Koi pond 1.jpg
    Koi pond 1.jpg
    171.1 KB · Views: 180
  • Koi pond 2.jpg
    Koi pond 2.jpg
    89.6 KB · Views: 197
  • Koi pond 3.jpg
    Koi pond 3.jpg
    103.4 KB · Views: 197
Last edited:
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Nice pond; welcome to the forum! This is a good place to learn what you are doing--and why. There is a lot of knowledge and experience swimming around here.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States