Newest Newbie

Reaction score
Greetings fellow pond owners! I am very new to the pond world, I live in Las Vegas and have a very small backyard so I decided to use a pre-fab tub. It is Approx. 300 Gallons with plant shelves surrounding it. I've had it for about 6 months. I have a Bio-King filter w/waterfall, live plants and have successfully (so far) kept 6 Koi ranging from 4" to 9". Here's my dilema, I've researched and have come up with many confusing answers..
Do I stop feeding the fish for the winter? What exactly is considered winter in Las Vegas? Is it the water temp? When then should I stop feeding? Also do I shut down the pump/filter and keep the waterfall running? Do I take out the plants? ANY advise is greatly appreciated!! Thank You, Debra

Reaction score
Hi Debra!

I have family in Vegas and Pahrump! Welcome!

Look at some of our old posts to get the info you need, but essentially once your water temperature (not air temp) hits 50 degrees (get a thermometer at the pet shop), you quit feeding your fish and can turn off your filtration if you like. Everything goes back on in the spring when your temps again hit 50 degrees.

Taking out the plants depends on the type you have. Can you identify them or do you have photos you can share so we can help you?

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
Your fish might still beg for food at the lower temperatures. DO NOT GIVE IN TO THEM. They will be fine and you won't have to worry about the food rotting in their stomachs.

Another place is your local market meat counter. I got my digital thermometer for only $10 there and it is very accurate. It does both "C" & "F".
It comes with a plastic sleeve and a clip so you can carry it in your pocket without it falling out when you bend over your pond.

Reaction score