Noob need help...

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b, 10a
Country
United States
Good day, all! So, I'm new to ponds, although I've been an aquarist for decades.
I'm converting a 40 gal plexi tank into a small, above ground "pond" for my 2 young children.
My question is...
Is upkeep on a pond similar to that of an aquarium?
Water flow GPH=10x pond size?
Filtration?
Water changes?

In the aquarium world sunlight is USUALLY avoided like the plague due to algae build up.
Ponds require algae though, correct?

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post these questions.
Like the headline says...

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to our group.

A pond is like a big tank. Just outside.
Usually the pump flow is 1.5 to 2 times the gallons of the pond.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b, 10a
Country
United States
Only 2 times? Interesting. Would more be detrimental to the pond?
I know a little about goldies and they require NO heater, correct?
As for the water heating up through sunlight, I'm planning to surround pond with brick and will be insulating the inside between the plexi and the brick. Thoughts?

HARO

Pondcrastinator
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Canada
A bit on the small side for a pond. More of an outdoor aquarium. Having gone through that stage 'way back in the dark ages, I know that it CAN be done, but it will probably be more crowded than your average "real" pond, so stick closer to your GPH = 10 x pond size rule. You don't know until you try! ;)
John

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b, 10a
Country
United States
;)
A bit on the small side for a pond. More of an outdoor aquarium. Having gone through that stage 'way back in the dark ages, I know that it CAN be done, but it will probably be more crowded than your average "real" pond, so stick closer to your GPH = 10 x pond size rule. You don't know until you try! ;)
John