Not sure if I'm doing this right....Ledges

Discussion in 'Pond Construction & Equipment' started by y2kdejesus, Jul 11, 2009.

1. y2kdejesus

y2kdejesus

I have started the digging and have come to think about ledges. Take a look at the pics and please tell me if this is the way that ledges should be dug. Do I put ledges all around the pond and at what heights. I want to get to know this before I get farther in the excavation phase. Can you go overboard in putting ledges in? The way I understand it is, ground level then ledge then pond floor. Since I am a newbie to all this your inputs are welcome. Also do I need to leave a ledge for the skimmer at the end of the pond if I go with one. :) Thanks

Attached Files:

y2kdejesus, Jul 11, 2009
    1. Advertisements

2. y2kdejesus

BBK

Its hard to tell what the actual shape of the pond is.

BBK, Jul 11, 2009
    1. Advertisements

3. y2kdejesus

DrDave Innovator Moderator

Ledges provide perfect standing places for predators to fish. Skimmers are traps for fish. Best to avoid both.:)

DrDave, Jul 11, 2009
  4. y2kdejesus

y2kdejesus

BBK here is a vey rough sketch of the shape of the pond to be. Apologies for the drawing I am using MS Paint and it really sucks. All features are proposed and nothing etched in stone yet. Notice the downward slope from waterfall to skimmer. Wadda u think about that as well. Thanks :)

Attached Files:

y2kdejesus, Jul 11, 2009
  5. y2kdejesus

y2kdejesus

Hey DrDave,

Very good points on both. I was thinking the same thing. Just thought they would make good spots to put marginals in. I guess you saved me some thinking, I can just go straight down to pond floor from here. What do you think about the smooth downward slope of the pond? I am at the 18" level left to excavate downward. I think it would make it alot easier to clean, vacuum etc. Thoughts......

y2kdejesus, Jul 11, 2009
  6. y2kdejesus

BBK