Not sure if I'm doing this right....Ledges

Reaction score
I have started the digging and have come to think about ledges. Take a look at the pics and please tell me if this is the way that ledges should be dug. Do I put ledges all around the pond and at what heights. I want to get to know this before I get farther in the excavation phase. Can you go overboard in putting ledges in? The way I understand it is, ground level then ledge then pond floor. Since I am a newbie to all this your inputs are welcome. Also do I need to leave a ledge for the skimmer at the end of the pond if I go with one. :) Thanks

Attachments

• ledge1.jpg
    ledge1.jpg
    29.3 KB · Views: 390
  • ledge5.jpg
    ledge5.jpg
    34.2 KB · Views: 362

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
Ledges provide perfect standing places for predators to fish. Skimmers are traps for fish. Best to avoid both.:)

Reaction score
BBK here is a vey rough sketch of the shape of the pond to be. Apologies for the drawing I am using MS Paint and it really sucks. All features are proposed and nothing etched in stone yet. Notice the downward slope from waterfall to skimmer. Wadda u think about that as well. Thanks :)

Attachments

• sketch.jpg
    sketch.jpg
    11.1 KB · Views: 330
Reaction score
DrDave said:
Ledges provide perfect standing places for predators to fish. Skimmers are traps for fish. Best to avoid both.:)
Hey DrDave,

Very good points on both. I was thinking the same thing. Just thought they would make good spots to put marginals in. I guess you saved me some thinking, I can just go straight down to pond floor from here. What do you think about the smooth downward slope of the pond? I am at the 18" level left to excavate downward. I think it would make it alot easier to clean, vacuum etc. Thoughts......

BBK

Reaction score
You might want to think about adding islands as a type of ledge that way predators can't get to your fish from them.

Reaction score
BBK said: