Nymphaea Pygmaea Rubra

Reaction score
Good morning All...I'm a newbie to the pond scene but so far fingers crossed i've only had one or two issues that some knowledgeable people on here have helped me with to great success but now I've a question re my Nymphaea Pygmaea Rubra.. neither of them have flowered. I bought them bare rooted and planted them according to the instructions but although we've had lots of leave and they have full sun for more than 4+ hours a day we've not seen any signs of a flower...would anyone have any ideas why? Thank you in advance

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
A few of mine took their time to get blooming, they were small plants, bare rooted. It was a couple of months before they put up a bloom. Now that they have there is a few blooms a day and buds coming up. How long have you had it planted?

Sounds like a really neat lily.

HARO

Pondcrastinator
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Canada
Lorraine; how deep are they in the water? They are a true miniature and only need about 5 to 6 inches over the pot. Also, many of the bare-root plants I've seen were very small first-year plants, and didn't bloom until their second year. Also, would I be correct in assuming that your area may be somewhat sunshine-challenged? This could also affect their flowering. John

Reaction score
hiya, thanks for your replies...they are planted about 18ins deep and to be honest i think i underestimated the amount of sunshine the pond receives..i guess its nearer 6 hours a day. We have had plenty of leaves but no sign of a bloom.

HARO

Pondcrastinator
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Canada
I would try placing something under it to raise it by about one foot (or a little more). It's probably too late this year, but next spring you should see blooms. Remember to add a fertilizer tablet at the start of your growing season if your bio-load is low. John

whiskey