Old pond with some large leaks

Reaction score
Hi. My sister bought a house last year. It has a really nice pond, but when we filled it up, it was gone the next morning. I have no experience with ponds, so any advice about what to do here would be much appreciated.

The pond is about 2m x 3m and less than 1m deep. Don't really know much about its construction. The photos show the main leaks, but I guess there could easily be more.

Attachments

• photo 1.JPG
    photo 1.JPG
    139.7 KB · Views: 353
  • photo 2.JPG
    photo 2.JPG
    125.8 KB · Views: 388
  • photo 3.JPG
    photo 3.JPG
    146.7 KB · Views: 378
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
It may well be an idea to scrap the old existing pond and instead dig it all out and use a liner because this pond has had its day I doubt very much you'll be able to plug those leaks .
Be aware however to check your water table and act accordingly with drainage if its a high one because it has been known for a high water table to come up under a liner and push it and the water in the pond up and out .

Dave

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
I agree….don't think those leaks are repairable, without practically rebuilding the pond. This is a wonderful site, filled with information if your sister is interested in starting with a new pond:) Kim

Reaction score
2 options in my opinion.
Best option - Dig out the concrete and put down a liner. This will give you more gallons of water since the concrete is gone, plus you could go bigger or deeper.
Easiest option - Throw down a liner. Done

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Patching the obvious cracks and holes with concrete will slow up water loss perhaps enough to make the pond functional.

Adding a cheap liner over the concrete will last a long time as the concrete shape is going to be sturdy and protect the new liner assuming no dogs, hooves or heavy feet are going to stomp within the pond

Regards, andy
http://swglist.wordpress.com/