opinion on my water chemistry readings

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Zone 6B, Pocono Mountains of northeastern PA. 1500 gallons. Half of pond still has some ice coverage. We usually lose many 1-2 goldfish every spring, but have never lost any koi. Pond may be a bit overcrowded, but not really too excessive.
Anyway, two of our large koi have died. Both were around 24" and about 10 years old. One was seen floating by my wife and the next day was laying in the yard partially eaten. The second one was floating, When I found the one in the yard, I half suspected predators were the cause, then I found the second one floating.
So, both being about 10 years old, do you think they just got old? I see online that they can live much longer.

I use an API test kit and from what I see the readings don't look bad.

Ammonia 1.0
Ph 6.5
Nitrite 0
Phosphate .5

Thanks,
Joe

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
I'm not an expert, but what stands out to me is the ammonia and PH readings. Ammonia should be zero or very close to it and a Ph of 6.5 is a little on the low side.

mrsclem

mrsclem
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I agree with Tula. How many fish do you have and how big are they? The largest koi are usually hit hard by low oxygen levels. 10 years is not old for koi. I lost a 26 year old due to tumors a few years ago. Overcrowding can be a big issue with koi. They grow fast. How is your filtration? Coming out of winter is a really bad time. The fish are weak and the bad bacteria can cause major fish kills. Aeromonas alley- water temps 42-62. I'm watching both my ponds daily and we had a mild winter but been seeing jumping and flashing.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a