Orange Foam/Slime in new pond

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am a complete newby - first post here, so apologies if not enough info.
Question:
I have this orangeish foam growing, and the water has become murky.
What is it and how do I fix it? Pictures attached.

Background:
New pond -
pH = 8.0
1 month old -
5000 gallons -
above ground (ground water cannot run into it) -
goldfish added last week - (from pond builder who maintains many - came from pond with too many fish)
some water hyacinth but not much else for plants -
has pump, skimmer, waterfall, 4 airstones bubbling - UV lights in skimmer
water is well water.
I have this orangeish foam growing, and the water has become murky.
What is it and how do I fix it? Pictures attached.

Attachments

• IMG_8169.JPG
    IMG_8169.JPG
    201.6 KB · Views: 99
  • IMG_8168.JPG
    IMG_8168.JPG
    224.6 KB · Views: 105
  • IMG_8167.JPG
    IMG_8167.JPG
    88.9 KB · Views: 107
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I have to admit - that's a first. I'm guessing the foam itself isn't orange. Something in the water is orange (if that makes sense). The foma isn't that unusual, but the color is.

Could it be excess iron in the water? You mentioned well water, which is what made me think of that. Or do you have mulch around the pond that maybe leached color into the pond?

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
Ah I did not see where she mentioned well water up there. Could be that as if a lot of iron or some other mineral in it that has color to it. She has above ground pond so no run off. Must be the well water. Perhaps it will dissipate after awhile or you may need a filter on your well or hose so as not to allow the mineral to enter your pond. I am just guessing as you would need to test the water to really see the truth.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States