Otters and magical thinking

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
I finally got my heron problem solved only to be discovered by an otter last week. Of course, he cleaned out every last koi, all raised from fingerlings. The pond is in my backyard, 5000g and designed for koi: vertical sides, no shelves, 4-5' deep. I'm in a suburban area (lots a little under an acre) outside of Seattle. So shooting and trapping aren't realistic options due to neighbors, dogs, kids, and wall-to-wall wildlife advocates.

I've been told that electric fencing is the only other tactic that works. That's possible but I still have concerns about neighbors, dogs, and kids.

Hoping against hope that a non-electric perimeter fence around my yard could keep them out. Has anyone had success with traditional fencing, or know someone who has?

Thanks for your help. This is a tough one.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
My thoughts, however I'm no expert...you got me thinking...you ask traditional fence or electric fence. If you're worried about pets and children, do both. Traditional fence around the whole area and electric fence inside that. The traditional fence doesn't need to be too tall.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
I don't know if they are all the same, but I once accidentally bumped my arm against one of those electric fences they use for horses. That was quite a shock! My arm hurt for maybe 30-40 minutes after that. I'm an Electrician. I've been shocked a few times over the years, but never felt one like that and it was for only a split second.
If an otter gets hit with that, it will be a lesson he will never forget!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States