Over filter pond ?


Joined
Dec 25, 2019
Messages
40
Reaction score
7
Country
Australia
Can you over filter your pond ?
I need a filter for 1200 litres but I found one that does 4000 litres and it’s $200 cheaper
Thoughts ?
Sorry if my filter questions are annoying I am very new to this and like to hear peoples thoughts
 
Ad

Advertisements

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
37,725
Reaction score
22,111
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I don't think you can over filter the pond. In my opinion. You might not need to clean it as often.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
9,375
Reaction score
9,946
Location
Northern IL
I agree with @addy1 - I don't think you can over filter. There's only so much that you can filter out of the water, and after that you'll just be running clean water through a filter. It would be like "over vacuuming" or "over sweeping" - you might wear out your floor or rug, but there's still only so much dirt you can clean up off your floor!
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
143
Reaction score
74
Location
Winchester, VA
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I agree with the others. I am of the opinion that you can't have too much filtration.

Generally, what what I understand, pond filters are very overrated for what they can handle, around twice as much. So getting twice as large a filter would be the minimum size that would be needed. Having more is only an advantage, at least to me.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2019
Messages
312
Reaction score
477
Location
Purlear, NC
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
I agree with @addy1 - I don't think you can over filter. There's only so much that you can filter out of the water, and after that you'll just be running clean water through a filter. It would be like "over vacuuming" or "over sweeping" - you might wear out your floor or rug, but there's still only so much dirt you can clean up off your floor!
"Over vacuuming" Yeah, that's is definitely one thing that NEVER happens at my house. :LOL:
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
2,925
Reaction score
2,691
Location
Ct
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I have always been an advocate for over filtering. it allows for sudden spikes in nutrients such as major wind storms or say fires like our friends on the other side of the pond are dealing with . It gives the bacteria a place to grow alows the filter media to do it's job without being clogged up quickly . The only down sides i can see is when the event is over there the extra bacteria that grew probably will die off and stabilize to the quantity that there is enough food to sustain. Not really a problem the way i see it it .

The only down side is filtering before a bog filter i have nopt done so myself but many have said when they did prefilter to fine particles the bog died off that it needs the waste to do it's job well
 
Ad

Advertisements

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
37,725
Reaction score
22,111
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
The only down side is filtering before a bog filter i have nopt done so myself but many have said when they did prefilter to fine particles the bog died off that it needs the waste to do it's job well
The only pre filter I have before my bog is a leaf basket, catches any real large stuff. I usually don't need to clean it all summer.
I pull the water from about a foot from the bottom of the pond. I have a 5 gallon bucket around the intake pipe, drilled full of holes, to cut the draw down. I seldom have junk in the leaf basket.
My bog plants do great, I have nothing but the bog for a filter.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2019
Messages
40
Reaction score
7
Country
Australia
Ok thank you all so much has helped me out heaps !!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 13, 2017
Messages
232
Reaction score
201
Hardiness Zone
7a/7b depending on the map
Country
United States
My bog works very well, but is too small. The instant weather warms up some, I'll be adding to it. ;)
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top