Overdosed my pond - panic!

Reaction score
Country
Ireland
Hello,
We recently bought a house that came with a pond of 19ft x 13 ft, 4.5ft deep. Roughly 30,000 litres I think. Gold fish, koi, tench, hybrids I too I think!

Anyway, we have a heatwave here in Ireland (surprisingly!). Through research (I’m a complete novice at this) I figured out my pond was low on o2, I bought an aeration device.

Problem starts here - shop told me to treat for parasites as I Showed him pics of my fish, BUT I completely miscalculated the dosage and gave three times the amount of Blagdon anti parasite treatment. It’s currently 1am and I have the hose running to try dilute it somewhat.

IS this a COMPLETE disaster and are my fish going to die? Raging with myself

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to our group! Does it say anything in the dosage instructions about dangers of using to much?

I have never used it or heard of it.

Reaction score
Country
Ireland
It’s says that it’s a 5 day treatment, 660ml per day, but today I put in 1500ml, my mind was elsewhere when doing the calculations unfortunately. It was only when I settled down tonight it dawned on me that my math was wrong.

It doesn’t say anything on the back about overdosing. Blagdon seems to be a pretty popular brand here as that’s all the shop stocked and they had lots of different varieties of treatments.

Hopefully with the aeration and the current (very slow water change I’m doing) it’ll be okay. We are in drought here at the minute, which is crazy, all we typically get is rain, so I’m being a right brat doing a partial water change.

Hopefully all will be okay, and thanks so much for getting back to me. All this pond stuff is a massive learning curve!

Aoife

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States