pecking order

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am new to fish keeping this year, lots to learn, my question is do koi have a pecking order as when I feed them the big yellow fish is always first up and then they seem to come in order.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8A
Country
United States
I my experience yes their is a pecking order. I have a similar situation in my pond.
I have two goldfish in the pond that are a year older than the rest. They almost always eat first and rest seem to wait for them.
Every now and then somebody gets inpatient and steals a bite, but even then the feeding frenzy doesn't start until the big ones show up to eat.
The oldest female seems to spend allot of time bumping the smaller fish and chasing the them for short distances. She is the largest fish in the pond and seems to mostly chase the other females. I wouldn't call any of her behavior aggressive, just a fishy reminder of who is in charge.
The largest male is only aggressive when it come to eating and spawning.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
I'm not sure if they have a true pecking order like chickens, but some are definitely more aggressive eaters than others

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome!

I don’t have koi — goldfish only. There does seem to be some sort of “pecking order,” but with my guys it seems more related to size. The bigger ones barge in.....and the smaller ones retreat.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
You will generate aggressive behavior if there is not enough food for the entire school. Make sure you use a weight standard for feeding. Then the school will calm down.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
We don’t have a pecking order so much as we have a few who are bolder than the others. They are always the first to check out any situation, and the first to come up for food. The pond bosses. Haha!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8A
Country