Please help diagnose my koi

Reaction score
Country
United States
0AD2A1A1-FAD9-4882-A8BB-F7F75B4B59BB.jpeg

One of our koi has scales turning white and a few spots on their fins. Thought maybe carp pox but wanting to make sure we aren’t missing anything we can treat. Thanks!

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome!

Have you tried the forum KOIPHEN.com? They have an entire section dedicated to koi diseases, health issues, etc. I would give them a try. Be sure to give them more information, such as how many koi you have, if you’ve recently made any changes to your pond, and most important — they will want to know your water parameters.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Welcome @Sandee05 ! What a pretty fish!

I've seen koi pox that looks more like waxy warts or pimples. This looks more like your fish is losing color... but I am far from an expert! I would second @Mmathis advice about asking for help on Koiphen.

Reaction score
I would go for carp pox since it’s hot that melted candle wax look... the bit on the dorsal fine looks exactly like the pox I had (gone this year) on my chagoi koi. The spots in the sides is a bit odd just because it’s on single scales. Koiphen it up!

Reaction score
Country
United States
I would go for carp pox since it’s hot that melted candle wax look... the bit on the dorsal fine looks exactly like the pox I had (gone this year) on my chagoi koi. The spots in the sides is a bit odd just because it’s on single scales. Koiphen it up!
I have posted it to Koiphen. Just waiting on a diagnosis :)

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
It looks like you have a couple of answers on KOIPHEN. Please keep us up to date on what you find out and how the koi is doing!

Reaction score
Showcase(s):