Plumbing a bottom drain questions

Reaction score
Country
United States
My pond is all dug out, about 4/5 feet deep. Upon researching putting in the bottom drain I never really saw anyone that clearly showed the plumbing going back to the filter area.

My question here is can I have the bottom drain piping go straight vertical or should it be plumbed at more of a slope? Or does the amount of water being moved cary the particles and junk no matter the plumbing incline?
Untitled.png

EDIT: Forgot to mention I am making a DIY zakki sieve so it will work above the water line

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
I have no experience with bottom drains, but from a purely fluid dynamics perspective water pushed through a pipe with bends in it requires a greater force than through a straight pipe.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I have no clue on bottom drains either. Never used one or plumbed one that went through the liner. I did use a retrofit one in my Arizona pond, quit after a bit, drug in to many small fish. It was plumbed right to the external pump.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a/b
Country
United States
Did you search on kiophen.com. I considered a bottom drain when redoing my pond last year and found a wealth of info on that site .

Reaction score
As Becky mentions, any plumbing sweeping turns are less restrictive to water flow than 90 deg turns, after that the choice is up to you.