JBtheExplorer

Native Gardener
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
My pond breather isn't working anymore. Well, it works, but it immediately trips the GFCI. I'm not really sure what to do. I probably should've tested it earlier in the season to give myself more time to figure out what to do, but I've only ever had a breather so I have zero experience with anything else. I really can't believe there's nothing similar on the market.

Any suggestions on how to fix it or any alternatives to keep my pond healthy over winter would be greatly appreciated

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
Oh darn ! I had one used PB and one brand new in a box, but gave them to the man who took our koi, otherwise I'd send them to you.

JBtheExplorer

Native Gardener
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Could the GFCI be bad? I had one do that in the garage and it turned out the GFCI was just worn out.

No, I run my pond pump on it and have no issues. I also tried plugging the breather into another one with the same result.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Rats! I would take it to a certified electrician and see if it can be repaired. Given your location that option might be cheaper in the long run than running a pond heater.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
My pond breather isn't working anymore. Well, it works, but it immediately trips the GFCI. I'm not really sure what to do. I probably should've tested it earlier in the season to give myself more time to figure out what to do, but I've only ever had a breather so I have zero experience with anything else. I really can't believe there's nothing similar on the market.

Any suggestions on how to fix it or any alternatives to keep my pond healthy over winter would be greatly appreciated