Pond chemicals and GFCI


Joined
Jun 2, 2022
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Country
United States
4 year old 1/4 hp submersible pump began tripping GFCI. Replaced motor-still tripping. I replaced 15 amp GFCI with 20 amp GFCI - still tripping. I filled a plastic trash can with rain water and plastic bucket with pond water - both pumps trip a (different) 15 amp GFCI when submerged in the pond water bucket and both run fine when placed in the rain water can. Pond water test strips appear to show acceptable levels. Can water chemical affect GFCI performance? I recently began adding salt and cyanuric acid because of low test strip levels.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
13,398
Reaction score
7,578
Location
NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
First of all, hello and welcome!

Are you talking about a POND or a POOL? Do you have fish?

To answer your question, IDK, but I could see where some additives might alter the conductivity of the water. Cyanuric acid? I have no idea. Maybe someone else with more of a chemistry background can help you.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2022
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Country
United States
My small in ground pool is 100 gallon with a waterfall feature. No fish.
 
Last edited:

JRS

Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
620
Reaction score
324
Location
Wisconsin
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States
The more minerals (ions) in the water increase electrical conductivity, so perhaps a small electrical leak that the GFI can only sense with the pump in a more conductive solution.
 

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
31,145
Reaction score
18,909
Location
Arlington, Washington
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1654202074048.gif
@Gilroy
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
9,757
Reaction score
7,708
Location
Ct
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Sounds like your electrical is the culprit and its probably a poor ground @poconojoe any insight?
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top