Pond clogging underground before it gets filtered

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi there! I am new to this sight, and fairly new to caring for a pond. Long story short - my Dad is ill, so we moved in with him a few years ago and gradually took over all of his housework. I take care of the yard, and I've used the knowledge he gave me, but I don't know what to do right now. We have had this pond for about 15 years. It is about 3,000 gallons. It has a UV filter, a large pump in a pump house, and several layers of swamp cooler filters in the waterfall housing to filter smaller particles.

This year I added domestic ducks to our pond, and it has tripled the work hours I've had to put into the pond. The water is very clear and not green at all, that isn't the problem this year. Somehow, the pipe that runs under the pond pumping water to the pump house is getting clogged. It's not a huge deal right now - I have to climb in the pond and use a toilet plunger to try to force the gunk out the other end. I usually have to put the hose down to force the rest out.

Nothing spectacular is coming out when I do this. Just little bits of leaves mostly. This leads me to wonder if there could be something lodged down there that the debris is getting stuck on? It is clogging faster and faster, this time it only took two days before the water flow completely stopped. I check the filter basket and it is empty, so it has to be a problem underground.

It is getting cold, and it will be nearly impossible for me to climb in and do a clean out in the winter. Please help me to figure out where to start - I'm at a loss!

I can upload pictures of my setup if that will help. Thanks!

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Is there any gravel or small rock around the perimeter of the pond that could have fallen in over the years? Is this a bottom drain or similar to one?

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):