Pond dug, liner in...now pump/waterfall concerns

DMB21

Matt
Reaction score
Newbie here -- both to the forum and to ponding -- and I'm hoping some of you may be able to provide me with some advise.

Let me preface with a little background. I inherited a pond with my house, so I am unsure of the exact size, though online calculators have helped me estimate it at 400-500 gallons. I've taken it upon myself to move the pond from an "out of sight, out of mind" location to an area much more visible. In the process I learned that the pump that was with the pond has flowed its last waterfall and won't be helping me in the future.

Long story short, a project I was hoping would be free of new expenses now has the potential to cost a lot. The bad news is that I've put plenty of hours into deconstructing the pond, demo-ing the new pond site, digging a hole for the pond, and leveling it out, so I'm now married to the pond whether I like it or not -- and I do like it, just am worried about pump cost.

So, here's where I stand: I bought a cheap 620 GPH pond pump from Harbor Freight Tools -- Hyrdo Pacifica is the brand name, I believe -- which says it is for fountains, but also ideal for waterfalls. At the time, I was planning on a fountain only, but due to the landscape of my yard, the top of the pond sits a good 18 inches below ground level at one end, while 1 inch above ground level at the other. In order to make this visably pleasing while also preventing dirt and water runoff into the pond from the high ground, I've decided a small stream and waterfall make the most sense. Here's (basically) where I stand -- I've done some added work since this photo, but you get the idea of location/setting.

1014000_10101420732283053_1970817923_n.jpg