Pond location - seeking advice

Reaction score
Hi,

I am totally new to pond building. I want to create a wildlife pond to attract wildlife to my garden.

The first thing I'm thinking about is size and location. The idea is that I'll be separating my garden into two halves. One neat and tidy half for the humans, and one "natural" part for the wildlife. So naturally I'm thinking the pond needs to be in the lower half of the garden.

Firstly here's an overview of my garden:

Each of the 3 locations is along the left hand side, just after the patch of dirt in the middle.
full_view.jpg

Location 1:

This one is where the dirt patch is. The pond would be next to an apple tree.
location_1.jpg

Location 2:

This is just a little further down. It moves the pond away from the tree a little, but would mean the pond is further away from the house.
location_2.jpg

Location 3:
This again is just a little further down.
location_3.jpg

So my question is, can anyone give me any pros and cons on each of the 3 locations? Each spot should get a decent amount of sunlight. The garden is north facing, and so the left hand side of the garden has sun in the morning, then shade in the afternoon.

Also, is there a minimum size that a pond should be?

Thanks in advance :)

EDIT: Forgot to ask. Obviously all 3 locations are next to a fence. Is this ok or will I need to make the pond more central so it's away from things like that?

Reaction score
What about utility lines? Power, water, cable etc? Any issues with them passing threw?

Right under the tree would make the work pretty hard with all of the roots. Plus without a skimmer or constant netting you will get a decent amount of leaves and fruit in it. No problem next to the fence. But you want room to walk around it for maintenance and to plant any border plants if you choose to. I'm favoring the far back area away from the tree. Any possibility of putting it where the bench is? Its flat, clear and way from the trees.

fishin4cars