Pond rookie - how to install filter

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all. I'm new to garden ponds, but very eager to get mine up and running. I dug the hole, laid the underlayment, and laid the liner. I haven't received my filter yet, but I have some questions about it.

First off, let me say that I am planning on adding a waterfall next spring. I just do not have the time or money right now.

I would like to know if it's okay for me to fill the pond without having the filter yet. Also, what do I need to do to prepare for the filter to be put in? I have dug a hole outside the pond to fit the filter inside of. What needs to run from that filter into the pond? And do I need an empty pond to set that up?

Sorry for being all over the place, I'm just typing what I'm thinking. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Welcome to the forum. First off, how big is your hole, haha, pond and what filter are you going to be using? If there is any other information that might be helpful please post also.
Lol, the hole for the filter is about 18x18x18 inches, the pond is 3.5 feet deep, 10 feet long, and 6 feet wide at its widest point (quite a chore to dig that myself.) The filter is the
PondMAX Ultra PF1200UV Pressurized Pond Filter with 13 Watt UV.
I plan on having a few Shubunkin in the pond once it’s fit for fish to live in.

IPA

Reaction score
63b Chesapeake-Pamlico Lowlands and Tidal Marshes
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
Lol, the hole for the filter is about 18x18x18 inches, the pond is 3.5 feet deep, 10 feet long, and 6 feet wide at its widest point (quite a chore to dig that myself.) The filter is the
PondMAX Ultra PF1200UV Pressurized Pond Filter with 13 Watt UV.
I plan on having a few Shubunkin in the pond once it’s fit for fish to live in.