Pond stocking and pond building

Reaction score
Country
Canada
So I am doing some research on a koi pond, and have a few questions. I have no experience with ponds, so please have patience with me if my questions seem stupid. I am wondering if I were to do a koi pond, do I need a liner, or can I just dig a hole and fill it with water. How deep would it have to be? I am in Nova Scotia Canada we have some pretty chilly winters, I would like the koi fish to be able to stay in the pond year round. What equipment would I need for a pond? Also what kind of fish could I stock the pond with other then koi?

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Colleen on here lives in Medicine Hat in Canada .Remember koi get very big .If you are going small go with fat fantails .Goldfish and shubbies breed to much

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Wow. That's a loaded question! The answers could range from soup to nuts.

But yes, to start you will need a liner. That doesn't have anything to do with the fact you hope to keep KOI in your pond, but rather the fact that you hope to keep WATER in your pond. There are ponds that are built without liners, but they tend to be really, really big - not your standard garden pond.

So start with the basics. How much space do you have for a pond? And how big is your budget for this project?

Reaction score
..if I were to do a koi pond, do I need a liner, or can I just dig a hole and fill it with water.
Certainly no stupid questions.

Whether a liner is needed depends on your soil conditions, water source and water table. In heavy clay no liner is needed. In sandy it's needed. Then there's everything in between.

Where I lived in NY the water table was near the surface for most of the year so that made earth ponds easy.

If you have a cheap water source then water can be pumped in faster than it goes out. Most (maybe all) of the old Koi farms in Japan have stream/spring fed ponds.