pond substrate

Reaction score
hello to all, and greetings from alberta......I am new to the idea of a pond in the yard as i have had two small children running around for the past years Now they are old enough to play safe I thought about trying it out..I have been lurking around this sight for some time learning what i can but i have a few questions

1) What type of substrate do you use at the bottom of the pond to plant your plants?

2)How deep do you need to lay that substrate?

3)Can i use rocks that i picked out of the river in the pond instead of buying tones of rock

Thanks for reading and answering and sorry for the newbie questions

Reaction score
Hi and welcome. You will probably get a variety of advice on here. I started out my pond with small river stones and pea gravel in it because I wanted a natural look and somewhere to plant my lillies. After my water turned septic and my fish started dying, I drained the pond and got rid of ALL the rocks. Now my plants are in planters with pea gravel and any that my fish push out I scoop up and put right back in.
My advice... NO ROCKS!!
;)

Reaction score
thanks for the info...!! so no rocks... your saying just set the planter pots on the bottom? how do you hide the plant pots?? it may be easy in the deep end but what about in the shallow area around the edge..thanks again this is all good to know, i'm glad i decided to find out before starting.

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score