Pond UK London Winter advice

Reaction score
Hi I have a small pond about 700 litters with a Hozelock 3000 pump and a Lotus/Oasis 6000 uv 8w gravity fed filter. My question is what do I do in the coldest part of our English winter? Do I drain filter and remove pump? Or do I leave it all working??
Also any tips on freezing over any tips to prevent this from happening, as I understand that a frozen over pond can stop gases leaving the water and in worst case kill the fish.
I'm a newbie so any help would be great.
Thanks in advance

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
safer to turn everything off and drain your hoses .I left mine run a little to late last year and almost emptied my pond as the weather changed overnight and the water fall froze over and was pumping the water out of the pond over the ice that was forming .Our average winter temps are 50 degrees here and we really had a bad winter .If you have a pond heater or a in pond pump that can pump water up to keep an opening it would be better .An air pump will keep an opening too .Fish usually head for the deepest part of the pond to hibernate .

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Keeping a small hole unfrozen is sufficient for toxic gases to vent, preventing them from accumulating under a seal of ice.

If your pond has low density fish and very little decomp going on the risk of pollution is low. If the risk is high, methane and hydrogen sulphide can kill fish within a few days of a pond closing over

Regards, andy
http://www.flickr.com/photos/21940871@N06/
http://swglist.wordpress.com/

Reaction score
Hi
Thanks for you advice.
I have a low fish count, four atm but being given some fish this weekend ( a family member has to many) I estimate about 10 in total after this weekend.
So you recommend that I disconnect uv filter, do I leave a little water in it for bacteria in the bottom??
Leave fountain running via pump, which should stop pond freezing over.