POND VACS --MUCK MOP

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
WATERBUG, can you help out with this one?

Since I'm just starting out, not sure I need to spend the big bucks for a pond vac just yet, or even if I'll even need one. And we currently really just don't have enough storage space. Have read comments on this & other sites, plus cruised web sites & product reviews. The " Muck Mop" looks interesting, but of course there's not much feedback info out there.

Is it really as easy to make as it seems? Any recent upgrades, updates, or other developments? Does the " sump pump" need to be submerged (like for the Silt Vac), or can it be an external sump-type pump? We could use our pond pump, I guess. Just disconnect from the filter and connect to the vac (it's a 3600 gph, solids handling pump)?

Anyone else have feedback?

Reaction score
Is it really as easy to make as it seems?
Depends on your skill level. For people used to building stuff it's easy. First time DIY it would be a nightmare. Getting the parts is difficult imo. The weakest part is where the nozzle attaches to the body but it can be beefed up.

Any recent upgrades, updates, or other developments?
Not to the vacuum. However in pond keeping there's been some advances in bottom drain systems which make vacuums less needed. Back in the day when I developed this vacuum there were several people interested in vacuums and many different types were created.

Does the " sump pump" need to be submerged (like for the Silt Vac), or can it be an external sump-type pump?
External is fine.

We could use our pond pump, I guess. Just disconnect from the filter and connect to the vac (it's a 3600 gph, solids handling pump)?
That should work fine. The pressure on that pump might want to blow the hose off. You can drill more holes, and/or larger holes, in the nozzle to increase flow, which makes a more powerful vacuum, and decrease pressure in the hose to keep things together.