Pond Vacuum or Shop Vac ?

Reaction score
Hello, I am a new member here. I am also pretty new with ponds and fish. We built a pond last year ( about 6'x8'x3' ).I have several baby koi fish (about 2" long as of this past summer). I have been on the net reading about pond vacuums ( found mostly they are quite costly-smile) . I began to wonder if I could use a shop vac instead? Also I have a question as to what keeps either one of them from sucking up your fish?? This may sound like a stupid question to most of you, but I have always been told that "a stupid question was one that was not asked"( or something like that - smile). I would really appreciate any suggestions anyone may have.I noticed that my water was brownish and I am sure there is lots of muck, dead leaves, and such on the bottom. I put a net over the pond before the leaves started to fall, but I can reach my hand into the water and pull out bunches of them. I am trying to get ready for spring and want to purchase something (not too expensive ) that will help clean and clear the water. I also use barley extract, that seemed to help quite a bit. The real questio here is ........shop vac or pond vacuum ?? I have babbled enough .........thanks for listening and your help. :100:
Trix

Reaction score
Shop vacs do work but they lack the suction for very deep water and you have to stop and dump them by hand. A pond vac works of the same principal as the shop vac. It has a more powerful motor so you get better uptake in deeper water and it dumps its self. All you do is put the drain hose where you want the water and gunk to go. Some you have to wait for them to dump and the turn itself back on others have 2 chambers so it switches from one to the other without you stopping vacuuming. I love mine, they don't work so good with gravel bottom ponds.

Reaction score