Pond Vacuums

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Hi everyone, I bought my house in Smith River, CA, a few years ago. There was a concrete pond here, but I didn't really do anything with it until this last spring. There are now plants in it and goldfish and I have really been enjoying my pond. This is my first ever pond, so I am still learning. This forum is very helpful.

Is there ever a need to use a vacuum on the pond? If so, any suggestions on the kind to get?

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
well welcome and was the cement sealed ,you don't want to raise the ph .Ponds are fun but addicting too .How big is the pond and lucky you that it was there and now you have it up and running

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Thanks for the welcome Sissy. I have no idea if the cement was sealed. It's been here for probably 15 or 20 years (my guess). We figured that the pond is about 350-400 gallons. The fish that survived the first couple of months are doing quite well. We get over 100" of rain each year, with very minimal freezing. I'm right on the Northern California coast (just south of the Oregon border), so the temperatures are very mild year round.

Reaction score
The concrete raising pH myth has unfortunately being around the web for many years. Very easy to test and dispel. Sealers, of any kind, are not needed other than to try and stop leaks.