Pond was clear - but bottom was disturbed

Reaction score
I am VERY new to ponds. I have a 2000 - 2200 gallon pond. Its man made with pond liner. I have one tilapia, about 6 gold fish and 6 small fish (maybe guppies?), two bottom cleaner (sucker type fish). The pond is about three weeks old, we are just experimenting at this stage. It has an underwater pump that goes to a waterfall (filter and lava rocks). We do have a larger filter with UV light but have not hooked it up yet. We do not have a substrate on the bottom yet, although I do plan to put one. We have a good amount of plants (considering the fish are so small), water hyacinths, water lettuce, iris and papyrus. Depth ranges from 1 foot to 3 feet. I live in the Caribbean.

The pond was very clear, to the point where we could see the fish poop on the bottom of the pond. We had a visitor and he decided to 'help' with the ponds edging. For some reason, he decided to get into the pond. The entire bottom was very disturbed. To the point where we can't see the bottom or the fish any more.

I had assumed the sediment would settle back to the bottom, but 72 hours later, it still hasn't. While its better, its still not clear.

I'm considering catching the fish and emptying the pond and starting over.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Is it algae from the bottom of the pond now floating? Should I hook up the larger filter with UV light? I have been using plants and the waterfall for a more natural filtration.

Please help me clear up my pond so I can get back to enjoying coffee next to it without being upset because I can't see my fish!

THANKS!

callingcolleen1

mad hatter
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4a
Country
Canada