Pond water change

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey there. I am new to this. Had ducks a long time ago and decided to clean up their old pond and put fish in it. We put a bunch of feeder goldfish in it to start. When it rained last week, it flooded my yard and ran a lot if mud into the pond. No matter how much I filtered it I couldn't get it to clear up. So I caught all the fish put them in buckets drained it and cleaned it and started with fresh water yesterday. Woke up this morning and they are all dead. What did I do wrong?

Attachments

• 16490865813767011422014435211831.jpg
    16490865813767011422014435211831.jpg
    318 KB · Views: 26
Reaction score
Country
United States
And welcome to GPF you will get plenty of great advice hear.
Hello and welcome. Did you add a dechlorinator to the water? If you have city water, the chlorine and chloranines are toxic to fish.
I did add dechlorinator. Do you think the water was too cold? It started happening really quite fast. I had used tap originally as well but it sat in the pond for a couple days before I put any fish in it. I am so angry at myself. Poor fishies!

TheFishGuy

( Insert something funny )
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
4b or 5a
Country
United States
I did add dechlorinator. Do you think the water was too cold? It started happening really quite fast. I had used tap originally as well but it sat in the pond for a couple days before I put any fish in it. I am so angry at myself. Poor fishies!
We all learn and grow from our mistakes, especially with ponding.

Since you used a dechlorinator, I am going to guess it was that you reset the cycle of the pond. If you haven't read about the nitrogen cycle yet, start here: https://www.thesprucepets.com/nitrogen-cycle-understanding-1380724

basically when you did a full water change, you killed any and all bacteria that were allowing the nitrogen cycle to go round, causing a buildup of toxic chemicals, and fish death.