pond windows

Reaction score
I am at the planning stage of building a formal koi pond. Nothing too big so currently plan it to be 12'x8'x4''. It will be raised about 18" - 2' out of the ground. Above ground will be block work walls but underground it will just be earth. I will line it with a rubber/butyl liner.

I have been looking at lots of pond pictures and I really like the idea of a window. Does anyone know if this is possible with a lined pond? My first thought is to make a wood frame. I would overlap the end of the glass by 2" or 3". I could screw uPVC cladding through the liner onto the wood with the cladding also covering the 2" or 3" that goes over the glass. With plenty of silicone sealant being squeezed by this sandwich it seems to my uneducated brain that it should seal.

Excuse the picture. As you can tell I am no artist but it might help explain. This is a view from above.

Any thoughts?

If the window was 24"x15" any idea how thick the glass would need to be?

As the window would only be partly submerged would I need to take precautions to stop the pond freezing?

Attachments

• Pond window.jpg
    Pond window.jpg
    7.3 KB · Views: 3,981
Reaction score
yes, I have seen exactly what you're talking about. You could stand on the side of the pond and see the fish swimming by. Very cool.I think your biggest concern has to be to get a piece of glass that is strong/thick enough to withstand the force of water against it so that it does not break.

The pond I saw that had a number of long, horizontal rectangular windows and built of brick walls on the above-ground part and it had to have been at least an inch or 1 1/2" thick. It was not wood. Basically, it was like the type of glass used in one of them huge city aquariums.