Pondmaster 2000 filter kit - Any good?

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a Newbie :100:

I just bought the below Pondmaster 2000 Filter/Fountain kit below:

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?pcatid=5232&prodid=9680&catid=31

I got the 2950 model rated for up to a 2000 gallon pond with the 950 gph pump. I will have it in a 800 gallon pre-formed pond (38 inches deep), but I know how some manufacturers OVER-rate their products all the time. Will this thing keep my pond sparkling or just barely cut the mustard?

I only plan on putting about 10 Comet Goldfish in there once the Pond has cycled. Thanks for your replies, Jimbo

Reaction score
Hello...............Is anybody out there???

I'm new to this Forum and I've posted 3 different times, but no one has responded to any of them???

Is it something I said???

Reaction score
Hi Newbie! Sorry I can't help you, I am a newbie too. I can tell you I have fish tanks, and the more water you have circulating(turnover) per hour the better. If you can afford to go bigger, go bigger. Of course, I know nothing about ponds yet, but more turnover, more oxygen, healthier fish. Good Luck with your project.

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
Sorry Jimbo
Some of us have other lives and don't always get time to read the Forum daily.

I read the specs on their filter and it seems to have all the elements for filtration. That said, I think you will want another pump for circulation, 950 GPH, in my opinion is not enough. With 10 Comet Goldfish, you may be ok. If you go to Koi, you will want more circulation.

When I turn on my 3800 GPM waterfall, my adult Koi love it. My 24/7 waterfall and bio filter is fed with a 1150 GPH Beckett pump. It barely moves enough volume to sweep the entire pond bottom.

Reaction score
Thanks guys for your replies!!!