Pondmaster Pump Problems, any fixes?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I have a couple of Pondmaster pumps that would start to rattle and I would put in a new impeller unit. Now they are "scoring" the impeller magnet and only run for a short while, maybe 4 hours, before stopping. In cleaning the pumps I notice the impeller channel is scored on the inside. Is there anything that can be done to fix the pump? New impellers just seem to rattle around. Also, any experience on the cause/prevention going forward?

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Sounds like these pumps have been operated at some point without a pre-filter. Sand or some other object has infiltrated the pump thus scoring the magnet and impeller surfaces. If the inner surfaces of the pump are that severely scored, the pump will need to be replaced.

Smaug

God makes perfect. I just dug the hole
Reaction score
Country
United States
I've had 2 pondmasters,both only lasted 2 and 3 years . I find them to be poorly made and prone to such problems.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
I've a pondmaster 2400 supreme that had been running for 14 yrs straight 24/7. Bought a new Laguna 4280 cuz I wanted more waterfall flow and had a problem w/it. Took it out and put the old pondmaster back in and it is working just fine. After taking out the Laguna and taking the impeller out and putting it back in for some reason it just started working again fine so I have the pondmaster hooked up to the filter and the Laguna solely running the waterfall. All is well w/both of them now. Guess any pumps can fail and get bad reviews but then other people can have the same pump and they will work fine for a long time. Ya just never know.

Smaug

Reaction score
Country
United States