Ponds made of Concrete Blocks


Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
157
Reaction score
23
Has anyone here built their pond with just cinder blocks? If so can is it possible that i can see a photo of it? im building one 10x10x3

Thanks is there any important factors i need to know before doing so
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
5,985
Reaction score
4,754
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
From what I've read on another forum, there is a lot that goes into a good design, such as digging a trench for a concrete footer, placement of the blocks and rebar in very other block and every block going around corners. It isn't a simple as it looks, but apparently short cuts can result in it not being structurally sounds.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
157
Reaction score
23
From what I've read on another forum, there is a lot that goes into a good design, such as digging a trench for a concrete footer, placement of the blocks and rebar in very other block and every block going around corners. It isn't a simple as it looks, but apparently short cuts can result in it not being structurally sounds.
Sorry im talking about an Above Ground Pond, not digging just making a simple square above ground line it up and so on.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2013
Messages
3,302
Reaction score
7,221
Location
Rhode Island, USA
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
At 3ft tall you will want a footing and you will want to rebar the cores of the block. At least around every 24" to 32" at the minimum. I also would personally use bond beam blocks around the entire top and rebar and fill solid.
8_Bond_Beam.png
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2013
Messages
3,302
Reaction score
7,221
Location
Rhode Island, USA
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
There's two factors needed to be considered when making an above ground raised pond, the weight of water that pushes outwards on the walls and the expansion of ice in the winter months, which can push walls apart

Regards, andy
http://www.pinterest.com/adavisus/pondering/
Agreed 100%. Thats why I like the bond beam around the top with the rebar around the entire top.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
157
Reaction score
23
At 3ft tall you will want a footing and you will want to rebar the cores of the block. At least around every 24" to 32" at the minimum. I also would personally use bond beam blocks around the entire top and rebar and fill solid.
View attachment 72393
Im sorry i dont understand what you mean by footing? I am going to cement the Blocks together for sure i will not just stack them on top of each other.
There's two factors needed to be considered when making an above ground raised pond, the weight of water that pushes outwards on the walls and the expansion of ice in the winter months, which can push walls apart

Regards, andy
http://www.pinterest.com/adavisus/pondering/
The water part we might have a problem but if i cement them together would it still be a problem? Here in Texas I do not believe it ever goes below 30-40 degrees during winters.. All my life i experiece slight snow drops 2 times.. So that maybe not be a problem?
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Messages
1,679
Reaction score
372
Location
Pacific NW
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
When I built mine my footer was 6" thick and 18" wide with rebar in it.The first course was bond beams with 2 rows of rebar. Also I put rebar in the vertical in every other hole in the blocks. I dry stacked the blocks to over 7' using liquid nails to hold them in place. Then had a pumper come in and fill the blocks with concrete.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
5,985
Reaction score
4,754
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
Sorry im talking about an Above Ground Pond, not digging just making a simple square above ground line it up and so on.
Yes, that is what I gathered from your post, but will still require footers , rebar etc. Others who have posted have more knowledge than me.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
157
Reaction score
23
When I built mine my footer was 6" thick and 18" wide with rebar in it.The first course was bond beams with 2 rows of rebar. Also I put rebar in the vertical in every other hole in the blocks. I dry stacked the blocks to over 7' using liquid nails to hold them in place. Then had a pumper come in and fill the blocks with concrete.
Okay, that doesnt sound to hard, but your pumper is it connected through your blocks? Or do you just word around it.

Yes, that is what I gathered from your post, but will still require footers , rebar etc. Others who have posted have more knowledge than me.
Okay, so footers are for the bottom parts. I was starting tomorrow.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
157
Reaction score
23
When I built mine my footer was 6" thick and 18" wide with rebar in it.The first course was bond beams with 2 rows of rebar. Also I put rebar in the vertical in every other hole in the blocks. I dry stacked the blocks to over 7' using liquid nails to hold them in place. Then had a pumper come in and fill the blocks with concrete.
How much was it for you to fill in the blocks with concrete?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
157
Reaction score
23
A pumper is a pump truck. Here is a video that may help

wow! THANK you !! That answers a handful! I don't plan on using concrete if just using quik-cret or liquid nails. Thank you so much robandamy
 

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
32,919
Reaction score
15,545
Location
Axton virginia
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
check out jason from Florida's concrete block pond on his patio
 
Ad

Advertisements

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
32,919
Reaction score
15,545
Location
Axton virginia
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I used rebar and packed mine with clay soil and it has held for 10 years now last pic shows the inside and the outside wall .I think Jason just glued his also
 

Attachments

  • pond 2014 tear down 032.JPG
    pond 2014 tear down 032.JPG
    249.5 KB · Views: 1,168
  • new pond 020.JPG
    new pond 020.JPG
    230.5 KB · Views: 1,232
  • new pond 022.JPG
    new pond 022.JPG
    222.5 KB · Views: 1,418
Joined
Oct 27, 2011
Messages
1,993
Reaction score
1,785
Location
BC Canada
Sissy, from what I see in your pictures you have 1 row of blocks sitting directly on the ground as a sort of leveling berm. In a case like that glue, rebar, or concrete would be totally unnecessary. Calvin on the other hand stated that he plans to build his block walls 3 ft high (big difference). Or at least I'm assuming the 3 was for the height. It could be he is planing on building his pond 10 high, X 10 X 3 wide???
In any case, it would be a big mistake to not reinforce the concrete blocks with rebar and concrete, and a build a proper footing.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Messages
1,679
Reaction score
372
Location
Pacific NW
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Okay, that doesnt sound to hard, but your pumper is it connected through your blocks? Or do you just word around it.


Okay, so footers are for the bottom parts. I was starting tomorrow.
Pumper means that the concrete was pumped into the block by a company that pumps concrete
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top