Praher Multiport Valve - Model: SM20-AO Maintenance

Reaction score
Hello All,

This is my first time posting to this forum and I'm sure glad there is a community of other Koi Pond owners.

Situation:
Currently, I'm running a Praher SM20-AO Multiport valve for my Koi pond. As of late, I noticed that my lever is becoming harder and harder to rotate. I've emailed Praher technical support (just a few hours ago) and I figure I should try this forum just in case someone else has run into this issue.

Does anyone have a suggestion on how to maintain this multiport valve? I've attached the product spec as a visual guide.

Thank you very much for your help!

Max

Attachments

• Praher Multiport Valve.pdf
    116.9 KB · Views: 609

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
welcomefrogs24.gif
rainn240
Hello fellow Washingtonian and I must smile at your forum name. It does rain here all day it seems lately!
Sorry I can't help w/ the Praher problem but glad you joined and maybe someone will pop up w/ an answer for ya hopefully.

stpaddy1.gif

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Found this on the web.
If you are having a difficult time rotating the multiport valve, there is an easy fix.
  • First, remove the pin holding the handle to the stem by knocking it out.
  • With the handle off, undo the screws or bolts which will allow you to lift off the cover.
  • The key stem will probably come with it because the shaft of the key stem is gunked up.
  • Remove the key stem from the cover, and you should see a small O-ring on the shaft.NOTE: If the valve has been leaking through the stem, here is the culprit.
  • You will also see a spring that holds the key stem down on the spoke gasket when assembled. Replace the O-ring if needed and thoroughly clean the shaft, O-ring, spring and the hole of the cover.
  • You will want to lubricate the O-ring with Jack's Lube, Aqualube, or a similar product.