Preformed vs flexible liner...

Reaction score
I'm starting my first goldfish pond shortly. Based on the area I have available, it will be in the 250 gallon range. What are the advantages/disadvantages of using a preformed liner vs a flexible liner. A preformed seems to be easier to install but I could be wrong, I'm a rookie.

What does everything think. What does everyone get their liners?

thx
Scott

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Preformed ponds work well, main thing is you are stuck with the shape it is made in. Also need to make your hole nice and level.

Liner pond, you can make the shape the way you want it.

Both involve a hole, equal in hardness to install i.e. dig the hole

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
yep and it seems preforms get a lot of heaving in the spring from the thaw .I had to sometimes level mine 2 times a year .Plus preforms to ship are expensive ,I bought mine at lowes and they clearanced it out for 50 dollars and would have never started ponding except for that .The liner pond is 10 times easier dig the hole line it with underlayment and throw the liner in ,done

Reaction score
Ok, off-topic i know.. but for my first pond @ 250 gallons.. what type of filter/pump should I be looking at or would you recommend? when i started this research.. i thought "how complex can it be".. i'm a bit overwhelmed by the number of pump/filter options out there...

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Folk trying to make bucks pushing stuff in boxes does tend to complicate anything, a pleasant pond will be fine without any water squelching going on until waters start going well warmer than 70f. No rush

Regards, andy

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States