Problems with 2 Laguna UV Sterilizers in a Row.

shanezam203

Rookie
Reaction score
Hi all, I have been using a Laguna UV light for 3 years to help keep the water clean, recently the LED has gone out on the unit and the bulb went bad on the inside. I decided to replace the entire unit and the 2 replacement units were faulty, the first one didn't work at all and the 2nd worked for 24 hours and then the LED was out again.

They are sending a 3rd unit Thursday, could I just have had 2 bad units in a row or what else could be causing the problems? Laguna says the green LED light on the UV pump should always be lit, is that true?

Here is the Laguna UV light I've been using for 3 years.

Thank you,
Shane

UV Light.PNG

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I know mine says it needs protected from weather .Does yours say that any wheres .I don't have laguna ones and not sure if it is the same with all brands .I bought mine off ebay and it was 30 dollars with extra bulbs and have had it 2 years now

shanezam203

Rookie
Reaction score
Update: I am having issues with the 3rd replacement NEW Laguna UV light. It has the green light when it arrives new in box, then I plug the inlet and out, turn pumps on and the green light goes off.

1. Anyone know if the bulb is shorting or if the unit is going bad?
2. Should the bulb have alge on it or get wet? see attached pics, should the water be protected from the UV bulb or is there a leak somewhere?
3. I am still needing to get a replacement unit, what could be causing problems in the seal, shortage or similar issues where they work for a few minutes and then short?

No other pumps on my power outlet are causing issues and are working fine with and without this UV setup.
And I used this same setup with existing pumps for 4 years now, any thoughts on this would be appreciated.

Thank you,
Shane

Attachments

• UV light 1.PNG
    UV light 1.PNG
    147.2 KB · Views: 335
  • UV light 2.PNG