Propylene Glycol as antifreeze?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi, this is my first year with my water feature. It has about 30gallons of water stored just below ground level with a pump to a fountain.
In Colorado it gets very cold for prolonged periods and I’d still like to be able to run it.
Heaters seem expensive to run and unreliable, bubblers could be an option but I’m not sure it’ll prevent the piping from freezing.
I’d seen a review for propylene glycol that it can be used in a pond (food grade). Does anyone know if this will work or if there are any risks with using it? I don’t have fish, but birds bathe in the stream section.

TheFishGuy

( Insert something funny )
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
4b or 5a
Country
United States
I am in Colorado to! Welcome to the forum!

as for the antifreeze, I wouldn't recommend adding any chemical to keep it from freezing, and as for if you need to add anything additional to keep it operating, pictures would be extremely helpful.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Here’s a pic. I’d love to keep it running all winter if you have ideas

Attachments

• F63B1EC4-9491-49F3-B32F-0887749306E2.jpeg
    F63B1EC4-9491-49F3-B32F-0887749306E2.jpeg
    402.4 KB · Views: 123

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome!

I am sorry, but I have no idea. I didn’t know there was such a thing as “food grade” propylene glycol. You might want to contact the company that made your pump and ask them if this is advisable. Even if it is “food grade” and might not be harmful to wildlife, it could be that the limiting factor is your pump. Every pump I’ve ever looked at says “to be used in water, only.”

TheFishGuy

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
4b or 5a
Country
United States
Here’s a pic. I’d love to keep it running all winter if you have ideas