Pump became disconnected issue

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Good afternoon all - I have a pond at my house which was inherited from the previous owner when we moved in about 8 years ago.

The filter and air system was running mostly fine for all that time with just some regular unblocking and a bit of routine maintenance. However I am by no means a pond expert and know very little about it.

There is one large Koi (there were originally 3 but 2 died over the years) and we also have put some smaller fish in over the years so there's probably a dozen or so smaller fish in there.

I have an issue today that the pump became blocked by weeds and when I lifted it out to clean it, the hose that goes from the pump, out of the pond and to the filter system has become detached so it is now just pumping water nowhere back into the pond!

Being a bit silly I never even bothered to check exactly where the hose goes into the pond as it goes underground from the filter box to the pond. The pond is very murky now that I've messed about pulling the pump out so I cannot see nor feel where things are supposed to be connected.

Any ideas how to troubleshoot this issue and what I need to fix it? Perhaps I need to find a professional to take a look.

Also - is it better not to disturb the fish too much in the middle of winter and leave it until Spring to try and repair this?

I have attempted to attach an illustrative photo....

Attachments

• 20230114_152822.jpg
    20230114_152822.jpg
    356.2 KB · Views: 29

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1673719590104.gif
@Javert