Pump Flow Rate VS ID Tubing?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Ok, So I have my new Pondmaster 950 and my new Pressurized Bio/Mechanical UV Filter. My question is: On the Pump Box it says "Minimum Outlet Inside Diameter of 1-1/2'' is required for maximum Flow" Now, The threaded end is only 3/4'' OD and the Filter Has 3 - 1 inlet and 2 Outlet step down slip on attachments (1'', 3/4'', 1/2''), Would my flow rate be minimized using 1/2'' ID tubing since the Pump ID outlet is only 1/2'' and the Filter inlet Starts at 1/2'' or would it flow faster (Higher Head Height) with same or little less outflow? Thanks! Sorry if confusing lol :goldfish:

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
the 1&1/2" ID tubing is for the upper end of the filters flow rating. but at only 950 gph on a pressurized filter its likely that size tubing isnt neccessarily "required". 1" on the input is probably fine, 1&1/4" will probably fit on the outlet, without the stepped hose adapter installed.that said.. the larger the tubing used both on the 'input' and 'output' of the filter means less flow resistance. and a pressure filter adds enough resistance on its own. it almost immediately starts building resistance in flow as its mechanical foam(s) start collecting, and holding debris and "clogging up". one of the outlets is usually for backwashing and doesnt need a hose on it. except while backwashing (cleaning the filter). the rest of the time its idle. usually even capped off. ( if ones supplied.)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Thanks for the fast response Koiguy, So I can't get away with 1/2'' tubing? I just have a 20' roll of it and wanted to use it somehow if i could since by the time the flow gets to the Filter it would be around 750-800GPH? Would it hurt the Pump for me to use 1/2'' when it's rated at 3/4''? Thanks for all the help!

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score