Pump for Draining the Pond

Reaction score
I'm cleaning out my pond this weekend for the first time by myself. We hired someone to do it last year, but I'd like to try it myself this year. I have the buckets, dechlorinator, chemicals to remove the extra sludge on the bottom, places for my fish, covers for the fish containers, water plants, etc.

My question is what kind of pump should I use to remove the water from my pone. It's a 5,000+/- gallon pond and I purchased a 1500 gph waterfall pump, but I'm not sure if I can use this because it doesn't specifically say it can be used for cleaning out the pond too. (I'm a newbie, obviously). Thanks!

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
never ever drain a pond and clean it stops the cycling of the pond and all you do is start from day 1 .Also stresses out the fish

Reaction score
Thanks, Sissy. The people that build ponds around here told me I should drain it every spring and clean it out. My pond is lake water green right now. I have not put any chemicals in all year yet. I just added water plants for the first time last weekend. I would love to not drain and clean it, so any advice is greatly appreciated! If those are pictures from your pond, you're obviously doing something right. What's your recipe for keeping your pond clear?

HTH

Howard
Reaction score
The question is how much gunk is there on the bottom. A large shop vac can be used to suck it out.

I know this is a bit on the late side but: What I like to do is build the a pond with two basins. The water and fish can be moved to one side and the other drained and cleaned.

I was watching a video about the Japanese Garden's koi pond in Portland and you can see koi crossing the submerged basin side. A neat system.

Reaction score