pump - pond - waterfall and UV filter

Reaction score
Hey guys,
We have just moved into a new house and it has this nice pond and waterfall made from huge rocks that were dug up when the house was built, but !!!!!! due to the previous couples divorce, the pond was neglected for 2 seasons.
As i am new to ponds, but want to restore this to its former glory, I thought i would join a forum and see if I could get some help and ideas -------
The pond is full of plants, maybe too many and also I have noticed a lot of leeches on things I have pulled out. Because the previuos owner didnt turn the pump off when we had that long frost last year, the pond pump, which is a TITAN seems to have burn out. The pump pipes up to a to a black plastic box above the waterfall and hidden behind trees, this has OASIS UV across the top, a conector for a hosepipe and 2 pipes coming from the front and dissapearing underground, I presume to feed the waterfall. This box isnt turned on at the moment as Im not sure wether I should run it when dry ???
My questions are -- can i get an equivelant pump that has a fountain included, but will feed enough water up to the filter box - what should i do with the filter box to test it out and see if it still works and if so, the maintainance required ---do I buy something to kill all the leeches -- and is it a good idea to pull all the plants out and empty the pond, clean it as its plastic and reinstate the plants and refill with fresh water ??????
Just forgot to mention that there are no fish in this pond, the plants are very healthy but thick and dense and its aprox 3 foot deep and aprox 5feet x 9 feet in dimensions

Would really appreciate any help and advice as its my new project

Thanks in advance

Grant

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
The box that says uv is for a uv light to help kill algae cells, it should only be on if you have water running.