Pump Question Garden Treasures from Lowe's

Reaction score
I'm new to Garden Pond Forum and already have a question. One week ago I bought a Garden Treasures 630 gph pump from Lowe's. It worked great for one day and then It started cutting off every 10 to 15 minutes. It would turn back on after about 5 minutes. Yesterday I took the pump back and exchanged it for another pump. It to ran all day yesterday and most of today, now it is doing the same thing. The pump and the cord do not feel hot. I also have a filter with a UV light plugged in to the same plug. The light never cuts off so I don't think it is a power problem. Is it normal for these pumps to cycle or does it sound like another problem? Thanks in advance.

Reaction score
I'm just running it through a pressurized filter also bought from Lowe's. This is the pump that the filter required.

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
I guess I was not clear... What is the size of your pond? While you are at it, what function is the pump performing besides filtration?
1. Circulation
2. Waterfall (Head?)
If this is on a circuit where nothing else is powered down, I would definetly suspect the pump.

Also, if the water is especially bad, is the filter clogged?

Reaction score
Sorry, I have about a 150 gallon pond. I'm using the pump for filtration a circulation. I have a spitter type for circulation. The pond has been running for a week and looks crystal clear. So I have not checked the filter. I added three small fish yesterday after putting in the new pump. I just find it hard to believe two pumps in a row could be bad. I might try a local pond store and try a better brand of pump. I paid $75 for this one thinking it was of pretty good quality. Do you have any suggestions.

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
I have had good luck with Beckett Pumps. Home Depot carries them. If they go out within the 2 years warrantee, they replace it free and you get another 2 years warrantee.

Reaction score