JBtheExplorer

Native Gardener
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
For those of you who have de-icers and air stones, I was curious, do you put the air stones directly under the de-icer, or do you place them in other areas? Is it personal preference, or are there any pros/cons to doing either? My assumption would be to put them near the de-icer, but since I'm new to this, I'm not really sure.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
Before I covered the pond I'd place them near the de-icer. In more recent years, we covered the pond and didn't use a de-icer.....the air stones were suspended in four spots around the pond's edge and the Pond Breather in the center of the pond.

JBtheExplorer

Native Gardener
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Before I covered the pond I'd place them near the de-icer. In more recent years, we covered the pond and didn't use a de-icer.....the air stones were suspended in four spots around the pond's edge and the Pond Breather in the center of the pond.

What's the best way to suspend air stones?

cas

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
My aerator came with a styrofoam piece that I tie the tubing around to keep the air stone at 12". I have the tubing going over the board to keep it in the center of the pond. Good luck with your pond over this cold snap we are going to have.

1671734023912.png

I have the Laguna Aerator PT-1630 . I keep the motor outside under an overturned pot on the bench. My first one lasted 10 winters.

1671733724079.png

Last edited:

JBtheExplorer

Native Gardener
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Good luck with your pond over this cold snap we are going to have.