Question about running pond through the winter..

Discussion in 'Winterizing Your Pond' started by Jersey_Marine, Aug 14, 2014.

  1. Jersey_Marine

    Jersey_Marine

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    100
    This will be the first winter with my pond. My pond is approximately 3.5 feet deep pretty much all around. Its approx 23ftx18ft in circumference. My waterfall is pretty high and the water output through the biofalls is considerable. I have 4 large Koi and 5 small Israeli Commets. My question is can I run the biofalls all winter long? I live in northern Jersey. My pump will be way below the freezing mark and the falls will keep the water full of oxygen. What is the opinion on this? I would take in my Pondmaster pump and filter but keep the Biofalls running. Any input will be appreciated
     
    Jersey_Marine, Aug 14, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jersey_Marine

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,091
    Likes Received:
    14,171
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    If this winter is like last winter it may be hard to do .I had my pond heater going but had to turn off pump to the waterfall and I am 15 minutes from NC .Bio load dies at a certain temp.
     
    sissy, Aug 14, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jersey_Marine

    JohnHuff Friends call me Dr. Sir John Huff

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Location:
    computer in study
    I'm one of those who turn my pumps off in the winter. I live in WA state.
     
    JohnHuff, Aug 14, 2014
    #3
    Jeff Zimnisky and oregonsquatch like this.
  4. Jersey_Marine

    Jersey_Marine

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    100
    What is bio load? Does that mean the good bacteria gets killed off when it gets too cold? My concern isnt the bacteria. My concern is the extreme cold water being bad for the pump or I heard the waterfall will make the water too cold
     
    Jersey_Marine, Aug 14, 2014
    #4
  5. Jersey_Marine

    Tula

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    3,856
    Likes Received:
    2,949
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    I live in Cincinnati and leave my pumps in the skimmer, but don't run them. I do run an aerator and de - icer.
     
    Tula, Aug 14, 2014
    #5
  6. Jersey_Marine

    Lisak1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    6,551
    Likes Received:
    7,350
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Northern Illinois pond here - ran our falls all winter long. We couldn't see running water, but we could hear it! The pond was fine, the pump was fine, the fish were great! We plan to run all winter from now on.
     
    Lisak1, Aug 14, 2014
    #6
    mariobrothersleeve likes this.
  7. Jersey_Marine

    RobAmy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    5,592
    Location:
    Rhode Island, USA
    If you keep it running make sure you pay attention to any ice build up. Water could flow the wrong way due to ice build up and run out of the pond and drain it. I keep mine running late into the season late december then disconnect my skimmer pump and bio pumps and lower them into the pond. I do keep air pumps going the entire winter. I really enjoyed the running water with snow and ice on the stream. My stream is very shallow so ice damming can be a problem with heavy snowfall and freezing temps so I choose to shut it down.
     
    RobAmy, Aug 14, 2014
    #7
    oregonsquatch and Tula like this.
  8. Jersey_Marine

    Lisak1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    6,551
    Likes Received:
    7,350
    Location:
    Northern IL
    RobAmy makes a very important point - the design of your pond will determine whether it's wise to run all winter. Given the right circumstances it is indeed possible, but you may have design elements that will give you issues all winter long that make it not worth the worry and extra work. Adding water to your pond in the dead of winter won't be an enjoyable pond moment!
     
    Lisak1, Aug 14, 2014
    #8
    oregonsquatch likes this.
  9. Jersey_Marine

    dieselplower

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    992
    Location:
    near Kalamazoo, Michigan
    How high?
     
    dieselplower, Aug 14, 2014
    #9
  10. Jersey_Marine

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,091
    Likes Received:
    14,171
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    yep good bacteria dies out and the temp .dies at is up for debate .I was told by ponddigger that it will start to die at 40 degrees water temp .but others say less temp. and all depends on your pond depth and how much sun your filter gets .My filters are insulated under and around them and then a liner on top and then my filter tank goes inside and this way if the filter ever leaks it all runs back in the pond .Even my hose for my pumps run inside my filters and up so if anything happens they run back inside the pond also .I just wing it .:)does not matter if bio is dead it still helps keep the water clear .oh plus my pond gets ground heat since it is not far from my septic tank
     
    sissy, Aug 14, 2014
    #10
    Lisaebetten and oregonsquatch like this.
  11. Jersey_Marine

    Dave 54

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6,273
    Likes Received:
    2,786
    Location:
    Plymouth
    This may help you go half way to prepping your pond for those cold winter months ahead we are lucky we run a large filter system that is in a fully insulated wooden framed filter housing with Policarbonate roofing sheets as its roof , we also covber our pond with policarbonate roofing sheets as a precaution too:-

    https://www.gardenpondforum.com/threads/prepping-your-pond-for-the-winter.12870/

    However unlike others we UK koi keepers keep the maintenance levels going throughout the winter months and also do a water change each time using the trickle meathod where the heat lft in the pond warms the trickle of water going into the pond its really a bit of a fine art and you also need a dechlorination filter :-

    https://www.gardenpondforum.com/threads/winter-and-pond-maintenance.10594/

    Hope this helps you some

    Dave
     
    Dave 54, Aug 16, 2014
    #11
  12. Jersey_Marine

    steve/gridnot

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    High Desert foot hills
    You can heat your water. I have designed and used several systems in the past. Solar with a spa back up works the best for your area. Kinda pricey, but you won't have to run out to break the ice.
    If you just heat for a trickle you use a small circulating pump and run it through a solar coil, the bigger the coil the hotter the water.
     
    steve/gridnot, Aug 17, 2014
    #12
  13. Jersey_Marine

    Dave 54

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6,273
    Likes Received:
    2,786
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Steve you can buy heaters for koi ponds they are 1kw, 3kw, 5kw, we dont bother prefaring instead to use insulation around the pond and filter housing and use Policarbonate roofing sheets to cover the pond ours never goes bellow 7c even at -15c

    Dave
     
    Dave 54, Aug 17, 2014
    #13
  14. Jersey_Marine

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,091
    Likes Received:
    14,171
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    I have a 150 watt one and it has a sensor that built in that turns it on when the water turns a certain temp .You may need 2 of them and bigger watts .But remember the more they run the more the electric bill goes up .
     
    sissy, Aug 17, 2014
    #14
  15. Jersey_Marine

    dieselplower

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    992
    Location:
    near Kalamazoo, Michigan
    I am thinking about covering my pond this Winter. It is about 8' by 9'. How much of an open space to you leave at the top to allow for oxygen and gas exchange. I wonder if the ground would be warm enough to keep my pond from freezing over if I did not run a heater of any sort. My pond goes over 4' into the ground. I assume you use the clear material so that Sunlight can get through the the pond to heat it and to provide light for the algae to perform photosynthesis?
     
    dieselplower, Aug 17, 2014
    #15
  16. Jersey_Marine

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,091
    Likes Received:
    14,171
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    I saw one ponder that attached hosing in a circle on a black painted board and put it in the sun .They ran the water through the loops and back into the pond .Not sure how it worked as they stopped coming on here .Like a solar hot water heater .They had it mounted high up off the ground .Not sure how well it would work in really cold temps and with less sunlight to heat it all up
     
    sissy, Aug 17, 2014
    #16
    oregonsquatch likes this.
  17. Jersey_Marine

    Dave 54

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6,273
    Likes Received:
    2,786
    Location:
    Plymouth
    You wont get a perfect seal by placing the sheeping ver the pond my friend , we just tape the two together and then place a third over the top of that .
    Your pond is in the ground though , what did you do for insulation around it ?

    Dave
     
    Dave 54, Aug 18, 2014
    #17
  18. Jersey_Marine

    dieselplower

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    992
    Location:
    near Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Dirt.
     
    dieselplower, Aug 18, 2014
    #18
  19. Jersey_Marine

    Dave 54

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6,273
    Likes Received:
    2,786
    Location:
    Plymouth
    M'mm dependant on your frost line will be dependant on if the two comined will acctually work , however in saying that my friend all you can do is try

    Dave
     
    Dave 54, Aug 18, 2014
    #19
  20. Jersey_Marine

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,091
    Likes Received:
    14,171
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    frost line in NJ is 2 to 3 feet but he lives in North Jersey so I would go with 3 ft frost .When I dug footings for mt front porch in Jersey they had to be 3 ft . deep by code and I lived in Edison .
     
    sissy, Aug 18, 2014
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.